Gracious Ways to Accept a Compliment

Do you have a tough time accepting compliments?

Most people do have a tough time accepting compliments.

You may have said to yourself at one time or another:

        I don’t like to toot my own horn.

 

        I’m not the type to brag.

 

        I don’t deserve it.

 

      They must be exaggerating.

    They feel sorry for me.

A compliment is a gift. If you don’t accept it, in effect what you are really doing is turning the “gift” down, insulting the person giving it and subtly suggesting that you don’t value their opinion!

Break the habit of self-deprecation and consider doing this instead:

  • A simple thank you will do – Look into their eyes and smile! (Or email Smiley faces)
  • Be appreciative – “I appreciate the compliment, especially from you.”
  • Recognize others – If someone else was involved, mention them too.
  • Ask for advice – “Thank you — and I was wondering if you could help me…”
  • Make a special effort to share your accomplishments – “I’m proud of myself today because…”

The good news is that mastering the art of graciously receiving a compliment helps you become more self-assured. The more self-assured you are, the more compliments you’ll get.

So, let the warm fuzzies begin!

What’s the best compliment you’ve received lately? Let me know if the comments below or on my Facebook page here:  Jeff Baxter Mortgage Team Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

